harmonie des spheres.com


1st part: Introduction


Welcome on harmoniedesspheres.com, a site dedicated to all music lovers. Take a few minutes to discover one of the greatest inventions based on a new musical perception that rely on the chromatic scale and the diatonic scale by using number to indicate each degree (see Fig. 1). By looking at the numbers that correspond to the intervals that constitute a Perfect Major Chord, you can see the legendary Fibonacci sequence. With the discovery of a “Musical Universal Key”, M. Lalonde, the inventor, demonstrates where this revolutionary easy approach method starts.

« see the video presentation on youtube »http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOwMDO0-zBw

2nd part: Diatonic scale vs Chromatic scale

To understand this approach, we have to recognize scales on a 360 degree platform as shown on Fig. 1. We used to have a limited perception to see it as a whole, we have to look at the 12 intervals of the chromatic  tempered scale, in fact, diatonic scales are only intervals that answer to harmonic established norms. The chromatic scale is the foundation on which these scales are leaning on.

« HDS Chromatic scale : Hz progression % »Welcome_files/HDS%20e%CC%81chelle%20tempe%CC%81re%CC%81e%20anglais.jpg

Let’s look at the same graphic on 360 degree. The use of black and white is used to represent the notes of a piano, to help understand this new perception.

« If you don’t already have the Musical Universal Key – Discs® »

Print and cut the two discs shown on Fig. 3, then cut down the 7 windows that correspond to the intervals on disc 1 (Item 32). Overlap disc 1 over the second disc (Item 30) and then position the 1st degree (“Tonic”) on C,

you’ll get the “C-D-E-F-G-A-B” sequence.



Now move the “Tonic” on the “Fifth”, the G, this way you obtain the alterations that constitutes the key frame of our tonal system and so on. We call this: The Cycle of the Fifths.

The Cycle of the Fifths


(Ascendant = Sharp order = F#, C#, G#, D#, A#, E#, B#)



(Descendant = Flat order = Bb, Eb, Ab, Db, Gb, Cb, Fb)


3rd part: The Harmonics

« the Third circle »

C, E, G, B, D, F, A

I degree                        C, E, G                  Majeur chord

II degree                       D, F, A                  mineur chord

III degree                      E, G, B                  mineur chord

IV degree                      F, A, C                  Majeur chord

V degree                       G, B, D                  Majeur chord

VI degree                      A, C, E                  mineur chord

VII degree                    B, D, F                         diminish

What is important here is that no matter the tone (tonal height) in which we play, the intervals will always be the same:

either major (which constitute the key frame of our tonal system) or minor. 




More to come…


The use of this material is permitted for educational purposes only

Any use for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited without the consent of the author.

To contact us: info@harmoniedesspheres.com

© 2006-2017 copyright. All rights reserved. Patent pending system.